Skip to content

Book Review, Gabrielle Bernstein, Miracles Now

May 14, 2014

I haven’t yet, for the most part, mentioned any of my forays into religion, theology, or metaphysics on this blog, although this has consumed a great deal of my time within the past several years. In fact, I’m actually thinking of dedicating a second blog to the subject of the wild spiritual ride I’ve been on lately, as it deserves its own space, but that’s an entry for another time…

Focused on books and the written word as I am, I’ve done a great deal of reading in the self-help/spirituality genre, and have recently began reading authors who teach the metaphysical text A Course in Miracles. This has led me to Marianne Williamson, and, more recently, to Gabrielle Bernstein.

Having spent forty days working through her May Cause Miracles, I found Bernstein’s guidance and advice incredibly helpful in seeing the ways in which we choose fear over love and how we externalize and project our anxieties onto others. Having blasted quickly through Bernstein’s other books (Add More ∼ing to Your Life and Spirit Junkie), I was thrilled when I saw that the ARC for Miracles Now: 108 Life-Changing Tools for Less Stress, More Flow, and Finding Your True Purpose (which was published on April 8th) was available on NetGalley (and even more thrilled when Hay House approved my request, as I’m very new to the ARC world).

Miracles Now is essentially a collection of Bernstein’s greatest hits (108 of them): ways to break through emotional blocks, meditate through stress quickly, handle childhood anger, stress, money issues, clutter, and even a quick guide on how to do a round of “tapping.” I think that I made it about twenty-four pages in before I pre-ordered the book from Amazon. I’ve found Bernstein’s suggestions for handling anxiety and stress quickly to be easy to work with and highly meaningful. I’ve been working on incorporating several into my own spiritual practice. What I love about Bernstein’s work is that she doesn’t mess around—she cuts straight to the nitty gritty of how to take the experience of the Divine beyond the realm of Big Ideas and into the practical world of day-to-day existence. I recommend this book strongly to anyone who is looking not only for Something More, but how to bring that Something into their everyday lives.

Source: ARC from the publisher via NetGalley, and my personal copy of the book

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

