Skip to content

Links: What I’ve Been Reading This Week

July 13, 2016

I’m currently working through a bunch of book reviews and blog posts, but, in the meantime, I decided to pass along some of what I’ve been reading this week:

An article by George Saunders, a reporter for The New Yorker, is the best breakdown I’ve seen so far of why it has been so hard to get a handle on who is supporting Trump and why.

Drama continues in my beloved Trekdom…from George Takei being upset over Sulu being gay in “Star Trek: Beyond,” to the ever continuing Axanar lawsuit, and finally, while not that controversial, I would love to know what they’ve been smoking over at Hallmark to make “Kirk and the Salt Vampire” one of their Keepsake Ornament offerings for 2016.

A physician has added his theory to the long list of retrospective diagnoses of Mary Todd Lincoln–in this case, pernicious anemia caused by a vitamin B12 deficiency. While it’s definitely one of those theories that can never be definitively proven, I find this one compelling. I figure it’s this or she was bipolar.

A blogger named Kristen M has been working her way through a list of the Top 100 Chapter Books and recently read the Little House books. I loved her commentary, especially as she echoes a lot of what I thought when I tried to read Little House in the Big Woods to my daughter. While I remembered the books for their portrayal of a loving family and the descriptions of food and music…what struck me as an adult was the racism, violence, and harsh moral code that the Ingalls inculcated in their children (or, that Rose Wilder Lane wrote into her mother’s stories).

Heather Havrilesky knocked it out of the park again with her Ask Polly advice column–this week’s article focused on a young woman who is trying to reconcile her self-image and childhood values while working in what sounds like some high profile industries (or at least populated by the upper class). Havrilesky also has a book coming out this month that I’m looking forward to reading.

And, finally, my alma mater is losing its shit over the Republican National Convention.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

